Toni Weidman Homes for Sale -Florida Luxury

Reducing Seller Inspection Stress

Reducing Seller Inspection Stress

 

Reducing Seller Inspection StressHave you ever noticed the panic that crosses the face of some sellers when you tell them the inspector is coming.  Some are very confident that there will be nothing found and that’s great for them, for you, and for the buyer. But some people don’t know what might happen, and they start to stress out.

 

The questions start: What does he look at? What will he find? What if…..?  I usually ask if there is something they know about the house that they are worried about. If there is, they had better tell me now.

 

I try to reduce their stress by thoroughly explaining the process, what he’s looking at and for, when we will get the results and what happens then.Reducing Seller Inspection Stress

 

I suggest that they leave the home (go have breakfast or lunch; even go shopping) since the inspector won’t share his findings during the inspection. And, I tell them not to worry. It will either pass inspection or it won’t. If it doesn’t, we will know what items need attention before the next contract (If the buyer voids this one), or we can fix those items now.

 

An “As Is With Right To Inspect” contract seems to help reduce the stress a bit. But I have sellers tell me that no way will they pay for any repairs. I suggest that if it’s small items (especially of a safety nature); they may wish to go ahead and fix them.  If this buyer voids the contract based on the inspection results, they will have to fix those items anyway prior to the next contract.


It seems that if you spend the time to thoroughly go over an inspection and it’s results, the sellers feel much better about it and can face it without emotional strain.

 

Ahhh!

Reducing Seller Inspection Stress

 

, Toni and Craig Weidman

Re/Max Sunset Realty

727-237-0083

email: homesbytoni@gmail.com

If you’re thinking of selling, A Market Analysis is free and confidential

 

 

Reducing Seller Inspection Stress

 

 

Thinking of Selling Your Home in Trinity-New Port Richey to Hudson?
Craig and I have been selling in this area for 20+ years.
Call Me or email my assistant, Shayna.
 
 
Toni Weidman-New Port Richey FL Shayna Weidman
Toni Weidman
 Broker-associate
Florida Luxury Realty
Trinity, FL 34655
727-237-0083
Websites
 
 email: homesbytoni@gmail.com                            
 
 Toni Weidman on TwitterToni Weidman YouTubeToni Weidman Linked In Profile Google+ icon       https://instagram.com/floridatoni/  
 
 
Save A Life: Adopt A Shelter Pet

 

Comment balloon 39 commentsToni Weidman • July 24 2014 06:34AM

Comments

anything to reduce the stress during this stressful time is a good thing...then appraisal!

Posted by Kristin Johnston - REALTOR®, Giving Back With Each Home Sold! (RE/MAX Realty Center ) about 4 years ago

Ah yes, Kristin. That one we can't do too much about.

Posted by Toni Weidman, 26 Years Selling Homes in New Port Richey, FL (Sailwinds Realty) about 4 years ago

Toni- you're doing it as you should!  Letting the seller know what to expect and then telling them to leave can help.  It's when they don't know that cause the anxiety. 

Featured in Bananatude

Posted by Kathy Streib, Home Stager - Palm Beach County,FL -561-914-6224 (Room Service Home Staging) about 4 years ago

Kathy, thanks for the feature. I'm sort of a teacher at heart so I do explain these things.

Posted by Toni Weidman, 26 Years Selling Homes in New Port Richey, FL (Sailwinds Realty) about 4 years ago

Hi Toni, Yes great guidance to give to a seller, to leave and see how it unfolds.  Yes inspectors do look thoroughly these days since that is what they are paid to do, but none are quite like Jacques Clouseau!

Hope you are having a great summer!

Gloria

Posted by Gloria Todor, & Doug Durren (484) 431-3686 in SE PA (Century 21 Absolute Realty ) about 4 years ago

Toni  Once you explain things to a seller they can usually relax .Selling a home is stressful It is our job to ease the stress . You do a great job !

Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) about 4 years ago

Toni, the inspection process is always a stressful time for all parties.  Having the right posture to deal with it, and the right information in how the process works, does help reduce the stress.  Many times, that is why I recommend an inspection prior to listing the home, then the seller KNOWS more about the issues a buyer inspection will discover.

Posted by Dan Hopper, Denver Realtor / Author / Advocate/Short Sale (Keller Williams Realty Downtown LLC) about 4 years ago

Toni,

You just gotta go with the flow as far as inspectors are involved! It's just part of selling a home... but yes, I have seen that LOOK too!

have a great day

Rob

Posted by Rob Thomas, Bristol TN-VA & Tri Cities Agent, ABR, GRI, e-Pro (Prestige Homes of The Tri Cities, Inc. CALL....423-341-6954) about 4 years ago

I usually try to send out a check list for my sellers outling what will be done.  I find it to be very helpful.  Thanks for sharing. 

Posted by Rob Marken, 25+ years experience in Bend (Bend River Realty) about 4 years ago

Hi Toni, for the most part, inspections are nothing to stress over but of course, anytime we hear the word "inspection" our antennas go up, similar to taking a test. Luckily, most sellers do want to sell and fix the items if that's acceptable by the buyers.
I've lost a buyer because of an inspection, though sellers were willing to repair the items and even went down on the sales price, they did walk.

Posted by Beth Atalay, Cam Realty of Clermont FL (Cam Realty and Property Management) about 4 years ago

Came back to suggest!

Posted by Beth Atalay, Cam Realty of Clermont FL (Cam Realty and Property Management) about 4 years ago

Toni,

Excellent post, and I am clicking on the suggest button.  A

Posted by Ron and Alexandra Seigel, Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy (Napa Consultants) about 4 years ago

You are right Toni, communicating what will and could happen with our sellers is vital to helping them understand the inspection process and to be prepared in-case issues are identified.

Posted by Anita Clark, Realtor - Homes for Sale in Warner Robins GA (ColdwellBanker SSK Realtors ~ 478.960.8055) about 4 years ago

Toni, well deserved feature! You're right, once we explain what happens during the inspection they can normally take a deep breath. There's always going to be something found and making the repairs vs. the buyer walking is normally in the sellers best interest.

Posted by Amanda S. Davidson, Alexandria Virginia Homes For Sale (Amanda Davidson Real Estate Group) about 4 years ago

Communication is key, Toni. Taking the time to go over all the processes and outlining potential choices ahead definitely reduces stresses. Kudos to you for helping your clients relax!
Bruce

Posted by Bruce Kunz, REALTOR®, Brick & Howell NJ Homes for Sale (C21 Solid Gold Realty, Brick, NJ, 732-920-2100) about 4 years ago

If they kept up the maintenance and filled out the forms honestly, everything should be fine.

Posted by Jeff Jensen (The Federal Savings Bank/Lending in 50 states) about 4 years ago

Stress what, people do stress over things way to much.  That is part of job to take away the stress.

Posted by Will Hamm, "Where There's a Will, There's a Way!" (Hamm Homes) about 4 years ago

Letting clients know what to expect can reduce the stress. This is good advice for agents.

Posted by Roy Kelley, Roy and Dolores Kelley Photographs (Realty Group Referrals) about 4 years ago

Toni, I think that 95% of seller angst about buyer inspections could be alleviated by getting super thorough pre-listing inspections.

Posted by Charles Buell, Seattle Home Inspector (Charles Buell Inspections Inc.) about 4 years ago

If a seller is so stressed out over what a buyer might find, he might want to do his own inspection and avoid surprises later.

Posted by Olga Simoncelli, CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management (Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate) about 4 years ago

Toni,

Congratulations on the featured post. I also seen that look way too many times. Inspection period can be stressful and it is our duty to alleviate it as much as possible. I just tell my sellers that they have no obligated to fix anything unless it is a safety issue or government requirement. That they can sell it as if, however, if they want to work with the buyer, that there are options such as credit, price reduction, fix some of the repair . I let them know that as a seller, they are still in control.

Posted by Les & Sarah Oswald, Broker, Realtor and Investor (Realty One Group) about 4 years ago

Letting the seller know what to expect is a great way to reduce stress.  It also is a good idea for the seller to take care of anything they know about prior to anythey  inspection.  In that way can control the costs and remove the stresss.

Posted by Joan Whitebook, Consumer Focused Real Estate Services (BHG The Masiello Group) about 4 years ago

Nice topic and blog Toni.

In Massachusetts the Seller (or Seller's Agent) is responsible to provide the Buyer with the brochure "Home Inspectors Facts for Consumers Sheet" at the time of first written offer.

Hopefully the law works and the Sellers are better prepared for the Buyer's home inspection.

Posted by Jim Mushinsky (Centsable Inspection) about 4 years ago

Toni-This is great advice and I agree the more they know upfront the less stress they may experience.

Posted by Wayne Johnson, San Antonio REALTOR, San Antonio Homes For Sale (Coldwell Banker D'Ann Harper REALTORS®) about 4 years ago

Toni, it's always difficult for Sellers to hear "what is wrong" with their home especially the sellers who keep their home in good repair.

Posted by Sharon Parisi, Dallas Homes (United Real Estate Dallas ) about 4 years ago

Home inspections can be cause for stress when selling a homes.  You give good advice about dealing with the process.

Posted by Myrl Jeffcoat, Greater Sacramento Real Estate Agent (GreatWest Realty) about 4 years ago

Good advice... Also, I think it helps to point out to sellers in advance some of the areas the inspector will be "poking into" ... such as furnace, water heater, electric panel, crawl space access .. So the piles of stuff that sometimes tend to accumulate near those areas can be moved in advance ...It can be embarrassing for a seller to have to drag away a box of old magazines while a bunch of strangers stand around staring at her ... :-)

Posted by Cheryl Johnson about 4 years ago

I can always tell the homes that were prepared for inspection by the agent. They either had a prelisting inspection done, or took a hard look to be get the little and big things fixed or repaired. 

Posted by Scott Seaton Jr. Bourbonnais Kankakee IL Home Inspector, The Home Inspector With a Heart! (SLS Home Inspections-Bradley Bourbonnais Kankakee Manteno) about 4 years ago

Thank you all for your comments.

Posted by Toni Weidman, 26 Years Selling Homes in New Port Richey, FL (Sailwinds Realty) about 4 years ago

There is alwys going to be something going on...Lets find out what it is...that's all

Posted by Richie Alan Naggar, agent & author (people first...then business Ran Right Realty ) about 4 years ago

We have severalrealtors in our area who insist upon the seller doing a pre-listing inspection and fixing any issues ahaed of time. This is also a way to reduce the stress as the inspector is working for you not against you as many sellers view it.

Posted by Nick & Trudy Vandekar, 610-203-4543, Tredyffrin Easttown Realtors, Philly Main Line (Long & Foster Real Estate Inc 610-225-7400) about 4 years ago

Good tips Toni. And anything we can do to help our clients through the process without too much worry is how we get repeat biz. Some of our clients though will worry just because they worry about things in general no matter how much time and attention and reassurance they are given. It just wouldn't be "right" if they didn't worry about it.

Posted by Dan Pittsenbarger, Improving Conditions (Keller Williams) about 4 years ago

Toni, makes all the difference for seller when they are NOT around. (I always tell them not to be there at inspection.)

Posted by Praful Thakkar, Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale (LAER Realty Partners) about 4 years ago

Dan, you're right. Some people just enjoy a good worry session.

Praful, it's best but not all believe us :)

Posted by Toni Weidman, 26 Years Selling Homes in New Port Richey, FL (Sailwinds Realty) about 4 years ago

Toni, good advice.  If my buyer is using an inspector that puts sample reports on the Internet, I look at them with the buyer so they know what to expect.  I explain that the inspectors job is to note anything they see.  Not everything noted is a major issue.  They need to be ready to evaluate each item that affects the property in terms of is it a deal breaker, can it be easily mitigaged, and can they easily repair the item.  The answer lies within the buyer, of course.  But an upfront conversation eases the pain.

I still try to get sellers to inspect and repair upfront.  That way then can reinspect and show a good inspection report to the buyer. 

Posted by Dee Toohey, Broker, ABR, AHWD, CIPS, FMS, ePro (Innovative Realty Solutions Group) about 4 years ago

Love the idea of keeping the lines of communication open..as per this super post. THX!

Posted by . 4Terra Land Brokers .. 828-776-0779 Asheville NC, What's Most Important to YOU? Call(828)-776-0779 ( REAL ESTATE RESOURCES & NETWORK ) about 4 years ago

The NC Real Estate Commission distributes a free brochure called "Questions and Answers About Home Inspections".  I find that utilizing that brochure as well as discussing the process in general when we take the listing and then reviewing the same thing upon receipt of an Offer to Purchase really helps.

Posted by Mona Gersky, GRI,IMSD-Taking the mystery out of real estate. (MoonDancer Realty, Dillsboro,NC) about 4 years ago

Toni, as a Seller we'll surely be biased about the property condition and critical as a Buyer.  I ask the Owners upfront to have their home inspected then we have a clean slate to work from.

Posted by Kevin J. May, Serving the Treasure & Paradise Coasts of Florida (Florida Supreme Realty) about 4 years ago

Toni -- All the more reason for inspections to be done prior to listing. However, sellers rarely want to spend the $$$.  Doing so would definitely lift some of that stress and get a subsequent passing grade instead of a failure.

Posted by Barbara Altieri, REALTOR-Fairfield County CT Homes/Condos For Sale (RealtyQuest/Kinard Realty Group, Fairfield and New Haven County CT Real Estate) about 4 years ago

This blog does not allow anonymous comments